Copyright: HGI, chinnarach

Invitation to the 9th German IT Security Award Ceremony at the RUB

The award ceremony take place on November, 10, from 4.30 pm, at the Convention Center.

Logo 9th German IT Security Award 2022

Copyright: HGI, iStock: antoniokhr

The Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security cordially invites you to the award ceremony of the 9th German IT Security Award at the Ruhr University Bochum on November 10. The event will be accompanied by the Bitkom Cybersecurity Innovation Conference (hybrid/online). Patron of the event is the Federal Minister of the Interior and Home Affairs, Nancy Faeser.

9th IT Security Award 2022
November 10, 2022, award ceremony starting at 4:30 p.m.

Convention Center of the Ruhr-University Bochum
University Street 150
44801 Bochum

Please register for the 9th German IT Security Award via the Bitkom portal. You will find there also details about the conference program and the award ceremony.

Best three out of 54 projects
The Horst Görtz Foundation awards the German IT Security Award biennially since 2006. The prize is intended to help consolidate and promote the position of IT security from Germany - and in this way contribute to strengthening the innovative power of the German economy.

This year, scientists from all over Germany submitted a total of 54 projects for the multi-stage procedure. From these, the independent jury of experts has now selected ten concepts and solutions for IT security in the final round, resulting in three winners.

The award ceremony will take place on November 10, 2022, starting at 4:30 p.m., with the presentation of the ten best projects and the announcement of the winners. The 1st prize is endowed with 100,000 euros, the 2nd prize with 40,000 euros and the 3rd prize with 20,000 euros.

High-ranking speakers at the Cybersecurity Innovation Conference
Bitkom's Cybersecurity Innovation Conference again accompanies this year's award ceremony. Speakers there will include Dr. Markus Richter, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community and Federal Government Commissioner for Information Technology and Julia Herrmann, Head of Security Architecture and Cyber Defense at Giesecke+Devrient. Other high-ranking experts from business and research will speak during the six panels on topics such as network and infrastructure security, hardware security and artificial intelligence security. The event will take place partly online.

The detailed program and a registration form can be found here.

Award designed by artist Reinhard Doubrawa
Cologne-based artist Reinhard Doubrawa was specially commissioned by the Horst Görtz Foundation to design the winner's award. Doubrawa, who exhibits in renowned galleries and museums in Europe, has developed an aesthetic form for the award that reflects his associations with IT security. His disc, made of stainless steel, a homogeneous, freely designed pattern of strokes and arcs that offer the recipients room for their own associations. In this interview, the artist explained his concept.

The jury
Headed by Prof. Dr. Michael Waidner (National Research Center for Applied Cyber Security Athene), the jury consists of experts from the fields of IT security, cryptography, system and network security, and defense against cyber attacks. He is joined this year by: Julia Hermann (Giesecke+Devrient Munich), Prof. Dr. Konrad Rieck (TU Braunschweig), Dr. Rainer Baumgart (former Secunet Security Networks AG), Prof. Dr. Angela Sasse (Ruhr University Bochum), Susanne Dehmel (Bitkom e. V.), Dr. Thomas Wollinger (Etas GmbH), Thomas Caspers (Federal Office for Information Security), Dr. Daniela Gerd tom Markotten (Deutsche Bahn AG) and Beate Hofer (Volkswagen AG).

Christina Scholten
Public Relations Officer
Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security
Tel: +49-(0)234-32-29274
e-mail: christina.scholten(at)

Further information can be found at

General note: In case of using gender-assigning attributes we include all those who consider themselves in this gender regardless of their own biological sex.